2023 releases

A Wreath for Udomo

A Wreath for Udomo

$24.99
Introduced by Petina Gappah, a lost classic by a radical Black South African author: as exiled African activists in post-war London plot to revolutionise their native countries, idealism and tragedy...
A Down Home Meal for These Difficult Times

A Down Home Meal for These Difficult Times

$29.99
A poignant and compelling collection of short stories about those whose lives have been marked by the risk of displacement, from the winner of the AKO Caine Prize.An enterprising young...
Your Wish is My Command

Your Wish is My Command

$39.99
A brilliantly original debut graphic novel that imagines a fantastical Cairo where wishes really do come true. Deena Mohamed brings to life a cast of characters whose struggles and triumphs...
Seesaw

Seesaw

$22.99
Seesaw is an energetic comedy of cultural dislocation — and in its humour, intelligence and piety-pricking, it is a refreshing and hugely enjoyable act of literary rebellion.A 'recovering writer' —...
The Five Sorrowful Mysteries of Andy Africa

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries of Andy Africa

From $22.99
Crackling with energy and intelligence, this is the unforgettable story of Andrew Aziza, a one-of-a-kind teenager who goes on a journey of self-discovery in the shadow of colonialism and communal...
Radius

Radius

$34.99
A haunting, intimate account of the women and men who built a feminist revolution in the middle of the Arab Spring.In 2012, the joyful hopes of the democratic Egyptian Revolution...
Map Reading

Map Reading

$22.99
An inspiring and moving collection of speeches and essays from the Nobel Laureate in Literature 2021'One of the world's most prominent postcolonial writers - He has consistently and with great...
The Daughters of Izdihar (The Alamaxa Duology #1)

The Daughters of Izdihar (The Alamaxa Duology #1)

$22.99
Trapped in an arranged marriage to a man she does not love, Nehal dreams of attending the Weaving Academy. There, she can take control of her powers, bending any water...
Dazzling

Dazzling

$32.99
A bewitching and immersive Nigerian magic realist novel from an extraordinary literary voice, for fans of Chigozie Obioma, Abi Daré and Deepa AnapparaSoon you will become the thing all other...
Small Worlds

Small Worlds

$32.99
An exhilarating and expansive new novel about fathers and sons, faith and friendship from Caleb Azumah Nelson, the no.1 bestselling, award-winning author of Open WaterThe one thing that can solve...
A Spell of Good things

A Spell of Good things

$32.99$24.99
LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2023 A dazzling story of modern Nigeria and two families caught in the riptides of wealth, power, romantic obsession and political corruption. Eniola is tall...
The Middle Daughter

The Middle Daughter

$32.99
The story of seventeen year-old Nani who discovers womanhood through hardship before finding her freedom and independence Udodi's death was the beginning of the raging storm but at that moment,...
The Shape of Dust

The Shape of Dust

$34.99
A father wrongly imprisoned. A daughter's quest to free him An incredible true tale of overcoming injustice and ode to the fierce love within one family, The Shape of Dust...
Africana

Africana

$45.00
A culinary expedition celebrating cooking from across the African continent Africana travels the continent showcasing its vibrant and varied cuisines that are rich in flavour, diverse in culture and steeped...
All Your Children, Scattered

All Your Children, Scattered

$29.99
Winner of the Prix Ethiophile, the Prix des racines et des mots, and the Prix des cinq continents de la francophonieAN AWARD WINNING NOVEL FOLLOWING THREE GENERATIONS TORN APART BY...
A Visible Man

A Visible Man

$32.99$22.99
From one of fashion's most important changemakers, a memoir of breaking barriersEdward Enninful has lived an extraordinary life.Here, for the first time, he shares the inspiring story of his journey,...
Content Warning: Everything

Content Warning: Everything

$22.99
A fiercely contemporary collection which renegotiates the contract between poet and reader in the light of this moment in human history, from the bestselling author of The Death of Vivek...
You Made a Fool of Death with your Beauty

You Made a Fool of Death with your Beauty

$22.99
A delightful, decadent romance, and a joyful celebration of Black excellence, from an award-winning author.It's the opportunity of a lifetime: Feyi is about to be given the chance to escape...
Moon Witch, Spider King (Dark Star Trilogy #2)

Moon Witch, Spider King (Dark Star Trilogy #2)

$22.99
The second novel in Marlon James's revolutionary DARK STAR TRILOGYIn this mighty follow-up to his number one bestseller Black Leopard, Red Wolf, Booker-winner Marlon James once again draws on a...
Now I Am Here

Now I Am Here

$39.99
A powerful novel concerned with how good people can end up doing terrible things during times of war and conflict.In Now I Am Here, we begin at the end. The...
Whites Can Dance Too

Whites Can Dance Too

$29.99
Translated by Daniel Hahn An exhilarating debut novel told through three different voices, Whites Can Dance Too is Kalaf Epalanga's reflection on and celebration of the music of his homeland,...
Blood Scion

Blood Scion

$19.99
Following one girl’s journey of magic, injustice, power, and revenge, Deborah Falaye’s debut novel, inspired by Yoruba-Nigerian mythology, is a magnetic combination of Children of Blood and Bone and An...
House Woman

House Woman

$32.99
My name is Ikemefuna Nwosu, and I am your wife. One day in Lagos, young dancer Ikemefuna is put on a plane to Houston to meet her new husband, Nna....
Honey and Spice

Honey and Spice

$22.99
Sisters, beware the 'Wasteman of Whitewell' . . . As host of radio show Brown Sugar, Kiki Banjo's mission is to protect her listeners from heartbreak. Which puts Whitewell College's...
A Ghost in Shining Armour

A Ghost in Shining Armour

$22.99
Once haunted . . . Gemma Daniels has never been quite the “down to earth” woman her adoptive parents raised her to be. She even has a unique gift: she...
Patience is a Subtle Thief

Patience is a Subtle Thief

$34.99
Hope and circumstance define a young woman’s life in this heartbreaking tale of lost innocence, set in politically volatile 1990s Nigeria, from an exciting and fresh voice in global literature....
I Am the Mau and other stories

I Am the Mau and other stories

$19.99
Two worlds collide in Chemutai Glasheen's debut short story collection, I Am the Mau and Other Stories. This enticing collection of contemporary fiction is a celebration of our ubuntu- the...
I Am Still With You

I Am Still With You

$29.99
A Reckoning with Silence, Inheritance and History An astonishing search for a missing person, the hidden tragedies of war and the truth of Nigeria’s history. Emmanuel Iduma never met his...
Radical Inclusion

Radical Inclusion

$49.99
Seven Steps to Help You Create a More Just Workplace, Home, and WorldAn inspiring young leader’s moving call to action for anyone who seeks to make the world a better...
Unearthed

Unearthed

$24.99
On race and roots, and how the soil taught me I belongA beautiful work of nature-writing, memoir and storytelling that will change the way we think about the natural world,...
Nightbloom

Nightbloom

$32.99
The stunning second novel from Peace Adzo Medie, author of Reese's Book Club pick His Only WifeWhen Selasi and Akorfa were young girls they were more than just cousins —...
Tiger Work

Tiger Work

$22.99
Inspired by environmental activism, this new collection blends fiction, essay and poetry to make a powerful and very personal appeal for change.If we continue to live as we do now,...
Shigidi

Shigidi

$32.99
And the brass head of ObalufonYoruba gods liberating a Nigerian artefact from London's British Museum, this is a heist novel filled to the brim with magic.Shigidi is a disgruntled nightmare...
Jali

Jali

$35.00
Comedian Oliver Twist was four years old when he and his family fled the aftermath of genocide in Rwanda for Malawi, their exile for the next fourteen years.Twist has turned...
Watch Us Dance

Watch Us Dance

$32.99
Translated by Sam Taylor The seductive, vibrant new novel from international bestselling author Leila Slimani. Morocco, 1968. As she stands at the window, Mathilde reflects on the opportunities before her....
A Trail of Crab Tracks

A Trail of Crab Tracks

$32.99
The award-winning author Patrice Nganang chronicles the fight for Cameroonian independence through the story of a father’s love for his family and his land and of the long-silenced secrets of...
America Made Me A Black Man

America Made Me A Black Man

$22.99
A searing memoir of American racism from a Somali-American who survived hardships in his birth country only to experience firsthand the dehumanization of Black people in his adopted land, the...
A Joyful Life

A Joyful Life

$34.99
One Woman’s Story of Triumph Over Trauma to Build a Life of Hope and GratitudeA Joyful Life is the astonishing memoir of Rosemary Kariuki, one of Australia's most beloved Local...
The Teller of Secrets

The Teller of Secrets

$29.99
In this stunning debut novel — a tale of self-discovery and feminist awakening — a feisty Nigerian-Ghanaian girl growing up amid the political upheaval of late 1960s postcolonial Ghana begins...
Notes on Grief

Notes on Grief

$9.99
A personal and powerful essay on loss from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the bestselling author of Americanah and Half of a Yellow Sun.'Grief is a cruel kind of education. You learn...
The Engagement

The Engagement

$22.99
*SHORTLISTED FOR THE OWNED VOICES NOVEL AWARD 2022*Speak now or forever rest in peace . . .THE PERFECT FIANCÉ.When Victoria’s best friend Gwen announces she is marrying the rich and...
Everfair

Everfair

$29.99
Now with a beautiful new cover and a foreward from award-winning author Cadwell Turnbull.In this re-imagining of Belgium's disastrous colonization of the Congo, African American missionaries join forces with British...
Sipping Dom Pérignon Through a Straw

Sipping Dom Pérignon Through a Straw

$34.99
A memoir, penned with one good finger, about being profoundly disabled and profoundly successful.Global humanitarian Eddie Ndopu was born with spinal muscular atrophy, a rare degenerative motor neuron disease affecting...
God's Children are Little Broken Things

God's Children are Little Broken Things

$22.99
These nine stories of queer male intimacy brim with simmering secrecy, ecstasy, loneliness and love in their depictions of what it means to be gay in contemporary Nigeria.A man revisits...
Ada's Realm

Ada's Realm

$32.99
Translated from the German by Jon Cho-Polizzi"Set to be one of the best books of 2023" — GQ Magazine"Soaring, spellbinding, utterly epic" — MUSA OKWONGA "A time-travelling wonder of a...
Cobalt Red

Cobalt Red

$46.99
How the Blood of the Congo Powers Our LlivesAn unflinching investigation reveals the human rights abuses behind the Congo’s cobalt mining operation — and the moral implications that affect us...
Goliath

Goliath

$34.99
In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi brings us a sweeping sci-fi epic in...
Jollof Rice and Other Revolutions

Jollof Rice and Other Revolutions

$29.99
A Novel in Interlocking StoriesNonso, Remi, Aisha, and Solape forge an unbreakable bond at a Nigerian boarding school, where we meet them for the first time in the middle of...
My Life As a Chameleon

My Life As a Chameleon

$19.99
Lily is a sixteen-year-old living in Manchester. It is nearly five years since her father's death, and she is soon to return to her birthplace in Nigeria to reunite with...
Scary Smart

Scary Smart

$22.99
The Future of Artificial Intelligence and How You Can Save Our WorldTechnology is putting our humanity at risk to an unprecedented degree. This book is not for engineers who write...