Southern Africa

The Library of the Dead (Edinburgh Nights #1)

The Library of the Dead (Edinburgh Nights #1)

$19.99
When ghosts talk, she will listen . . .Ropa dropped out of school to become a ghostalker — and she now speaks to Edinburgh’s dead, carrying messages to the living....
Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood

Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood

$22.99
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER — The compelling, inspiring, and comically sublime story of one man’s coming-of-age, set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that...
In Bibi's Kitchen

In Bibi's Kitchen

$56.99
Grandmothers from eight eastern African countries welcome you into their kitchens to share flavorful recipes and stories of family, love, and tradition in this transporting cookbook-meets-travelogue.In this incredible volume, renowned...
Nervous Conditions (Nervous Conditions #1)

Nervous Conditions (Nervous Conditions #1)

$19.99
FROM THE BOOKER PRIZE SHORTLISTED AUTHOR OF THIS MOURNABLE BODY, ONE OF THE BBC'S 100 WOMEN FOR 2020'UNFORGETTABLE' — Alice Walker 'A UNIQUE AND VALUABLE BOOK.' — BooklistTwo decades before...
Sugar Town Queens

Sugar Town Queens

$19.99
From the award-winning author of the CBCA shortlisted When the Ground Is Hard, comes a stunning portrait of a family divided and an uplifting story of how friendship saves and...
I Am a Girl from Africa

I Am a Girl from Africa

From $22.99
A memoir of empowerment, community and hopeA powerful memoir about a girl from Africa whose near-death experience sparked a dream that changed the world. She squeezes my hand and smiles....
We Need New Names

We Need New Names

From $19.99
'There are times, though, that no matter how much food I eat, I find the food does nothing for me, like I am hungry for my country and nothing is...
Black Leopard, Red Wolf (Dark Star Trilogy #1)

Black Leopard, Red Wolf (Dark Star Trilogy #1)

$22.99
A spectacular, genre-redefining literary fantasy novel from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of A Brief History of Seven KillingsTracker is known far and wide for his skills as a hunter...
Glory

Glory

$22.99
Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2022, this is an exhilarating, funny, whip-smart novel about power and corruption set in the animal kingdomA long time ago, in a bountiful land not...
The Furrows

The Furrows

$22.99
A powerful new novel about grief and mourning from the acclaimed and prize-winning author of The Old DriftI don't want to tell you what happened; I want to tell you...
The Book of Not (Nervous Conditions #2)

The Book of Not (Nervous Conditions #2)

$19.99
The second novel from the Booker Prize shortlisted author of This Mournable Body and Nervous Conditions continues Tambu's story.As Zimbabwe emerges into independence, Tambudzai Sigauke embarks on her second year...
The Old Drift

The Old Drift

$19.99
An electrifying debut from the winner of the 2015 Caine Prize for African writing, The Old Drift is the Great Zambian Novel you didn't know you were waiting for and...
Years of Fire and Ash

Years of Fire and Ash

$24.99
South African Poems of DecolonisationA unique anthology containing over five decades of protest poetry.‘'i may have been born on 27 April 1994 — but i was never born free.' Mjiele...
This Mournable Body (Nervous Conditions #3)

This Mournable Body (Nervous Conditions #3)

$29.99
Shortlisted for the 2020 Booker PrizeIn this tense and psychologically charged novel, Tsitsi Dangarembga channels the hope and potential of one young girl and a fledgling nation to lead us...
The Theory of Flight

The Theory of Flight

$27.99
Winner of the 2019 Barry Ronge Fiction Prize'On the third of September, not so long ago, something truly wondrous happened on the Beauford Farm and Estate. At the moment of...
History of South Africa

History of South Africa

$44.99
1902 to the Present*** Winner of the National Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences non-fiction book award ***South Africa was born in war, has been cursed by crises and...
Blood to Poison

Blood to Poison

$17.99
An epic South African fantasy from award-winning author Mary Watson, for fans of Children of Blood and Boneand The Gilded OnesSeventeen-year-old Savannah is cursed. It's a sinister family heirloom; passed...
Black Lion

Black Lion

$22.99
Alive in the WildernessBlack Lion begins in rural South Africa where a deeply traumatic childhood experience — a cousin being dragged away by a crocodile — should have turned him...
Black and Female

Black and Female

$19.99
Being categorised as Black and female does not constrain my writing. Writing assures me that I am more than merely blackness and femaleness. Writing assures me I am.This paradigm shifting...
Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments (Edinburgh Nights #2)

Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments (Edinburgh Nights #2)

$32.99$22.99
The spellbinding sequel to The Library of the Dead, featuring ghosts, magic, danger – and the quick-witted Ropa Moyo, as she tackles another thrilling mystery.Some secrets are meant to stay...
Whites Can Dance Too

Whites Can Dance Too

$29.99
Translated by Daniel HahnAn exhilarating debut novel told through three different voices, Whites Can Dance Too is Kalaf Epalanga's reflection on and celebration of the music of his homeland, the...
A Ghost in Shining Armour

A Ghost in Shining Armour

$22.99
Once haunted . . . Gemma Daniels has never been quite the “down to earth” woman her adoptive parents raised her to be. She even has a unique gift: she...
Sipping Dom Pérignon Through a Straw

Sipping Dom Pérignon Through a Straw

$34.99
A memoir, penned with one good finger, about being profoundly disabled and profoundly successful.Global humanitarian Eddie Ndopu was born with spinal muscular atrophy, a rare degenerative motor neuron disease affecting...
Book cover image

All That It Ever Meant

$29.99
An outstanding YA novel of family love, loss, and life lived between two cultures, by an astonishing, super-stylish new voice.'I'm going to tell you exactly how everything happened. Baba always says, Mati mwana'ngu, I...
The Burning Land

The Burning Land

$29.99
The exhilarating debut political thriller from the award-winning BBC broadcaster George Alagiah. 'It was never meant to be like this. Sabotage, yes. Propaganda, yes. All of that and more -...
When the Ground is Hard

When the Ground is Hard

$19.99
This CBCA short-listed book also won the LA Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature and is a stunning and heartrending mystery set in a Swaziland boarding school about two...
Runaways

Runaways

$34.99
Two women. Two cultures. And a friendship that freed them both. ‘We don’t choose where we’re born. Geography ends up being everything.’Shaimaa Khalil and Shelley Davidow met twenty years ago...
Our Separate Ways

Our Separate Ways

$49.99
Addressing gender alone won't help women rise to the top. Although women come from widely diverse backgrounds, they share a common assumption upon entering the workforce: 'I have a chance.'...
Soul Sisters

Soul Sisters

From $22.99
Soul Sisters by Lesley Lokko is a rich, intergenerational tale of love, race, power and secrets which centres on the lifelong friendship between two women: Scottish Jen McFadden and South...
A Wreath for Udomo

A Wreath for Udomo

$24.99
Introduced by Petina Gappah, a lost classic by a radical Black South African author: as exiled African activists in post-war London plot to revolutionise their native countries, idealism and tragedy...
Transparent City

Transparent City

$27.99
Translated by Stephen HenighanIn a crumbling apartment block in the Angolan city of Luanda, families work, laugh, scheme, and get by. In the middle of it all is the melancholic...
The Boy Who Never Gave Up

The Boy Who Never Gave Up

$22.99
In 1994, sixteen-year-old Emmanuel Taban walked out of war-torn Sudan with nothing, and nowhere to go. In the preceding months he was abducted and then tortured by government forces, who...
Children of Sugarcane

Children of Sugarcane

$19.99
Vividly set against the backdrop of 19th century India and the British-owned sugarcane plantations of Natal, written with great tenderness and lyricism, Children of Sugarcane paints an intimate and wrenching...
Hosting with the Lazy Makoti

Hosting with the Lazy Makoti

$34.99
A brand-new collection of recipes from South Africa's bestselling chef and social media sensation.Mogau Seshoene aka the Lazy Makoti is the South African Nadiya Hussain, with a huge social media...
Empowered

Empowered

$35.00
Learn how to live an empowered life with education activist and empowerment YouTuber, Vee Kativhu.From experiencing grief and leaving her home country of Zimbabwe for the UK, to attending disruptive...
Letter to Petya Dubarova

Letter to Petya Dubarova

$19.99
Just like the brief life and oeuvre of iconic Bulgarian poet Petya Dubarova, every page of this short novel pulsates with feelings.In Letter to Petya Dubarova, South African poet and...
The Mystery at Dunvegan Castle (Edinburgh Nights #3)

The Mystery at Dunvegan Castle (Edinburgh Nights #3)

$34.99
Ghostalker Ropa Moyo and her rag-tag team of magicians are back in The Mystery at Dunvegan Castle, the third book in the spellbinding Edinburgh Nights series by T. L. Huchu.Ropa...
Moon Witch, Spider King (Dark Star Trilogy #2)

Moon Witch, Spider King (Dark Star Trilogy #2)

$22.99
The second novel in Marlon James's revolutionary DARK STAR TRILOGYIn this mighty follow-up to his number one bestseller Black Leopard, Red Wolf, Booker-winner Marlon James once again draws on a...
Mine Boy

Mine Boy

$22.99
One of the first ever African novels in English by a radical black South African writer: the 1946 classic of one boy's loves, friendships and political awakening as a mine...
Call and Response

Call and Response

$34.99
A young widow has worn the same mourning clothes for almost a year. But her act of remembrance has become her shield against the world, a world she isn't sure...